The Shirley Hendrick Award

2016 Shirley Hendrick Award Recipient Dr. Avis L. Kunz with Penn State President Eric Barron

2017 Recipient

Dr. Avis L. Kunz

Assistant Dean in the College of the Liberal Arts, Filippelli Institute for e-Education and Outreach

The Shirley Hendrick Award recognizes a senior administrator who has significantly advanced efforts for adult learners at Penn State. Dr. Kunz was nominated for her instrumental contributions to the range and quality of degrees that we offer our adult students.

Shirley Hendrick

The Shirley Hendrick Award recognizes a University administrator whose visionary accomplishments have contributed significantly to foster and increase Penn State’s efforts to serve the adult learner. The award is open to all academic administrators University-wide, including but not limited to, deans, associate and assistant deans, and chancellors, whose efforts have made an impact on the accessibility of programs and services available to adult learners throughout the University community.

Award Criteria

  • Champions strategic initiatives to integrate best practices for adult learners into the overall landscape of the University.
  • Encourages innovative activities to foster and inspire a culture of collaboration while improving access to adult learner programs and services.
  • Exemplifies the spirit of entrepreneurial and visionary leadership in creating new opportunities for adult learners to access Penn State programs.

NOTE: All award nominees should be prepared to present at the 2018 Hendrick conference as part of their recognition. Further information will be shared with those individuals by the Hendrick Award and Conference planning committee following award winner selection.

Nomination Information and Deadline

Nomination Instructions

A simple form and two short letters of support are all that is required to nominate a colleague for the Shirley Hendrick Award.

  • Gather your letters of support and submit by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, December 8, through the link below.
  • Please check back in early fall 2017 for details about 2018 nominations.

The nomination window for 2018 is closed. Please check back in fall 2018 for future nominations.

For More Information

Questions about the award or nomination process may be directed to Albert Lozano at

For more information about the Hendrick Conference, please visit the conference web site or contact Judy Wills at